Four in February 2014

Dishonored

Last year I participated in a community driven campaign to complete four games during the month of February. Created to pair the typically slow release month of February with the insurmountable backlog that many gamers possess, Four in February turned out to be a surprisingly good motivator to grind through games.

The simple task of completing four games within the shortest month of the year was definitely a challenge and one that I am excited for this year. Last year I was fortunate to complete the challenge by finishing Beyond Good & Evil HD, Assassin’s Creed III, Vanquish and Lollipop Chainsaw.

The biggest hiccup of the month turned out to be Assassin’s Creed III due to the combination of its length and terrible pacing that gave me nearly no desire to complete the game. Assassin’s Creed III ended up occupying over half of the month as I began playing it to change the pace from my first game, Beyond Good & Evil. When all was said and done, I had roughly a week and a half to blur through two more games. Vanquish ended up being both a refreshing reprieve from the plodding AC3 and was surprisingly my favorite game of the month.

When all was said and done I ended up completing my list with three games being solid and one game being a chore. Despite my distaste for AC3 (which had merits that I mentioned in its review), I found that the Four in February a worthwhile challenge to create a conscious effort in completing titles that would otherwise collect dust on a shelf.

This year I’ve chosen the following games:

  • Dishonored
  • Gunpoint
  • Superbrothers: Sword & Sworcery
  • The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past

I have already started Dishonored (about 1/3 finished) and Sword & Sworcery (first act finished) so those two are games that are titles that I want to finish for personal reasons. Gunpoint is a title I stared at a lot throughout last year and I will give it a fair shake throughout the month. A Link to the Past is a game I played in my youth, but never to completion. With last year’s stellar A Link Between Worlds sitting patiently on my 3DS, I felt the need to give A Link to the Past some long overdue attention.

I’ve also highlighted a few games to consider should I run into a wall or lose interest in any of the above titles. Unfinished games like Catherine, Bastion and Kingdom Hearts 358 1/2 Days will all be considered should I need a change of pace.

I considered challenging myself by playing The Last of Us through the month. While I estimate it will take me about a week under my normal schedule to play through, I wanted to give the game a proper in depth look that I reserve for my top gaming experiences like Uncharted or Bioshock, so my playthroughs typically take a little longer.

So here’s to four more games off the backlog, with just two dozen days remaining in the month!

Leave a Reply

