A Eulogy to My PS3

PlayStation 3 CECHE

Tragedy has struck my peaceful setup. What was once home to a thriving environment where my Xbox 360, PlayStation 3 and Wii happily coexisted has turned into a candlelight vigil. Alas, my PlayStation 3 has bit the bullet. At least temporarily.

The exact issue with my PS3 is simple enough, the optical drive has stopped working, most likely the motor that spins the disc the eject and accept disc functions still work properly. I can still watch Hulu+ and play any games that I have installed to the hard drive, but the dagger to this news was I discovered the dead drive on the day I brought home Ni No Kuni, the fantastic JRPG from my dreams. How could I not be heartbroken at the thought of not playing a game created by the geniuses at Level 5 and orchestrated by the legendary Studio Ghibli?

Ni No Kuni

But the biggest pain caused by this incapacitation is that my PS3 was of the old 80GB CECHE01 series. This unit was far enough removed from the original launch run of PS3 systems that it had worked most of the initial kinks out, but still possessed the precious PS2 backwards compatibility. Granted the system did have its quirks, it spewed hot air from its single vent and its power usage was comparable to a small city, but the original PS3, with its chrome trim and memory card reader, has been a stalwart of my setup for since 2007. Sure, we made a mockery of your SIXAXIS motion control, your disclusion of DualShock 3, your brutal pricepoint of $600 and that you looked like a George Foreman Grill. But you played anything I asked you to, from a library spanning three console generations and nearly twenty years.

With its untimely demise, my PS3 leaves a gaping hole in my library with new gaming backlog titles being added at a rapid rate. My backlog had already featured an all-star lineup of PS3 titles including Metal Gear Solid 4, Infamous and Valkyria Chronicles, but coupled with a slew of exclusives like Ni No Kuni and the PS3 being the new home for HD remake collections, the PS3 was ready to go out in a blaze of glory. Instead, I was left with barely a whimper.

PS3 Grill

I always thought that the PS3 would be the system that soldiered on out of the three. I’ve always had remarkable fortune with my gaming systems. I still have my original PS2, GameCube and Xbox and my original SNES from 1991 still functions with a little coaxing. I just assumed that my non-S model Xbox 360 would have had a serious red ring of death and the Wii would have died of neglect.

To fix it through Sony the repair would probably take about six weeks give or take travel from my island state at the price of $130. To be fair, Sony has offered me a refurbished PS3 slim at 250GB which is tempting, but I dislike the notion that I would be giving up backwards compatibility. If I really wanted a PS3 slim, I would rather buy it from my locally owned used game store. No, thank you Sony, I appreciate the upgrade, but this PS3 means far too much to simply replace it.

Uncharted 3

My fat knockout PS3 has certainly earned its keep over the years, despite becoming a glorified Blu-Ray player lately. It has taken me through fantastic journeys with my favorite console franchise hero Nathan Drake in the stunning Uncharted series, provided countless hours of simplistic fun in LittleBigPlanet and nearly melted anything nearby when it played a Blu-Ray. I brought a fantastic collection of PS2 titles to play (all backlog worthy), played my last few months of Final Fantasy XI and suffered through years of torment waiting for Gran Turismo 5. It was a rough road,  but that heavy console took it straight to the chin.

One thought on “A Eulogy to My PS3

  1. Pingback: Theory Flaw | This Week in Gaming: August 26, 2013 – Sony on the Offensive

Leave a Reply

